Approved: 2/2/99

ASSEMBLY MINUTES DECEMBER 1, 1998

The Assembly was opened by Chair Dan Mielke at 3:15 p.m.

1. Welcome and Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the November 3, 1998 Assembly were approved as distributed on eastalk. The minutes of the November 17, 1998 Special Assembly were approved as distributed on eastalk.

II. President's Message

Dr. Creighton addressed the following issues:

A. Governor's Budget for Higher Education

The Governor's Budget has been released and contains \$73 million for this biennium above the current CSL. An additional \$43 million for the next biennium to fully fund the new budget model is included. The \$73 million this year represents about 63% of the funding request.

B. Appreciation

Dr. Creighton expressed his appreciation to all the faculty who called students reminding them to pre-register for the winter quarter. Of the 123 students contacted, many expressed their appreciation for being contacted.

C. Instructional Faculty Merit Awards

Dr. Creighton mentioned that the Administrative faculty merit awards are still being reviewed and will be announced at a later date. The following persons were congratulated on their award of merit:

School of Education and Business Programs

Peggy Anderson	Ken Smith
Verl Anderson	Jim Tooke
Carol Lauritzen	Felipe Veloz
Margo Mack	Ralph Woodward
Dan Mielke	_

School of Arts and Sciences	
Karen Antell	Richard Hermens
Burr Betts	Colleen Johnson
Elizabeth Boretz	Chris Jones
Regina Braker	Greg Monahan
Anna Cavinato	Lyle Schwarz
Matt Cooper	Mark Shadle
Rob Davis	Jay Van Tassell
Terresita Gutierrez	George Venn

D. Strategic Planning

Dr. Creighton mentioned that there is a guide that has been developed that will help us get started on the Strategic Plan. There have also been several committees formed to assist with the Strategic Plan, the Enrollment Management Committee and the Marketing Committee. Today we will begin the process of the Strategic Planning Committee. Dr. Shepard has agreed to chair the Strategic Planning Committee. Our goal is to have the Strategic Plan complete by June 30, 1999.

III. Strategic Planning Committee

Dan Mielke made a recommendation for the Strategic Planning Committee to consist of the following: the vice presidents and deans, 4 faculty members, 2 administrative support faculty, 2 students, 1 classified staff and 1 general community member. If this seems satisfactory, request that the Assembly approve this so the President can make his appointments. A motion was made and seconded to approve the recommendation for the Strategic Planning Committee members. A discussion took place. It was mentioned that the general community member could be someone within the region. Motion passed.

IV. Action Items

A. EPCC Course Recommendations

Jim Tooke gave a brief overview of the courses to be approved, MM 110 and MM 210. A motion was made to approve the addition of MM 110 and MM 210. A motion was made to table the motion until additional resources become available to fund the courses. No second was made, motion denied. The original motion was seconded and passed with a majority vote (3 no votes).

V. Five-Minute Access

A. Teacher Education Advising

Michael Jaeger gave an overview of the two programs available to students who are interested in pursuing teaching (CUESTE and MTE). Students can do either program. If you are advising a student and it becomes evident that the student is interested in becoming a teacher, please have them contact an education advisor in order for them to be advised properly.

B. Association of Oregon Faculties Report

Greg Monahan gave a report on the AOF and the elections of the representatives in the House. He mentioned that the Governor's budget has been released and it looks good. We are in the Governor's budget and includes dollars for 3/3 increase. Bruce Shepard mentioned that the budget also includes a \$15 million tuition freeze buy down. So far it looks like PEBB will be maintaining the benefits as they presently are. Greg encouraged everyone to join AOF, only a \$70 membership fee. If anyone is interested in joining, contact Greg after the Assembly.

VI. Election

An Inter-institutional Faculty Senate position is open. Bob Brandon gave an overview of the responsibilities mentioning that the original goal was to improve the communication with the Chancellor's Office. Now that this goal has been met, the representative will now keep track of issues on the campus level. There are six meetings per term, usually on a Friday and Saturday. It is a 3-year term. The floor was open to nominations. The following persons were nominated:

Elizabeth Boretz	Jeff Johnson
Regina Braker - declined	Chuck Coate - declined

An election took place. Jeff Johnson is the new faculty senate representative for Eastern.

Meeting adjourned at 3:50 p.m.

The next Assembly meeting will be held on Tuesday, January 5, 1999.